Book Review (Gypsy Hunted by Andrea Drew)

Hello Everyone!

I bring you another review. Unfortunately, it is not a very happy review.

Gypsy Hunted by Andrea Drew

This book held a lot of promise and ended up falling flat. I got half way through it and decided my time was better spent doing something else. The characters lacked growth. The storyline was unbelievable. The villain was lame, and the writing lacked structure. Overall it was a big disappointment.

The two things I want to talk about the most is the unbelievable storyline and the writing. First of all, some of the facts around the injuries that a main character gets is wrong. When this character has a brain bleed all kinds of problems arise, but then the author contradicts herself when those problems no longer are convenient for her story. Then she switches back again. I wish the author had done more research.

There are other unbelievable parts, but the last one I would like to talk about is the fact that a detective did not immediately report information for a case. An officer was taken and this detective thinks he knows who did it. I mean, come on. His bloody job would be on the line. Not to mention that withholding that kind of information could get him into legal trouble. Just all kinds of not realistic in this story.

Now for the writing. Descriptions are good and useful when done at the right time and in moderation. This book broke both of those rules. One minute I am reading about this guys thoughts on a girl and the next I am in a confusing side story about his possible illegitimate child with his brother’s wife. These long, and often boring, descriptions came out of nowhere and then the author would jump right back to whatever she was saying before the long description.

Next, there were repeated actions. Here is an example:
“She threw herself into the closest chair, staring at the wall. The house was hushed and she wished desperately for Leah to get home from work early.
“She closed her eyes and fell into an armchair…”
*source Gypsy Hunted by Andrea Drew, page 64.

So she sat down twice without standing up in between. There are many other inconsistencies like this one.

To top it all off, the author had a difficult time staying in the same tense. She would jump from past to present and from first to third.

Overall, I think the author had a good idea, but she executed it poorly.

one-star

Question of the Day: What is one thing you want to change about yourself?
I would love it if I was better at maintaining my organized house. I am decent at getting everything put into a place, but I am really bad at keeping that organization throughout the week. I know that part of it is that I need to put things back where they go, but I tend to get distracted. Before I know it, nothing is put away and I have to reorganize my house once again.
What about you? Leave a comment below or email me at penname.books@gmail.com.

That is all for today. Keep Reading!

Ta, ta.

b386f-rating2bsystem

If at any time you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

