Book Review (Silence by Natasha Preston)

Hello Everyone!

As the title states, I have another review for you.

Silence written by Natasha Preston

This is a story about a girl who was sexually abused for years and responded by not talking. I do not mean she did not say anything about what was happening to her. I mean, she stopped talking completely. This idea intrigued me. The cherry on top was her best friend Cole who stuck by her and learned a way to communicate without her having to say (or write down) a single thing.

Now I, usually, love books like this. I love getting into the thoughts and feelings of other. I take joy in learning someone else’s take on coping mechanisms and responses to being hurt. So as you can imagine I was so excited to read this book! Unfortunately, it was a bit of a letdown.

The characters grew and were great, but the storyline fell flat to me. I just kept waiting for more to happen. The book was more about her relationship with everyone and not so much about her experience. I just kept waiting for everything to blow up. I would like to say, that even though it was not about her experience, I did still enjoy the book. However, that being said, I will not be buying the next book in this series. I do not want to pay for something only to be let down again.

As for the grammar and spelling, other reviewers complained about it, but I honestly did not see many issues. It is possible that the author uploaded an edited version of the book or that I could have just missed stuff. The author is from the UK so I also could have attributed misspellings to that.  Regardless, it was not too bad of a read. I will most likely not read it again and I will not be buying the next book, but I do not feel like it was a waste of my time.

I give it 3.5 stars. 96895-three2bstars

Question of the Day: What is your idea of a perfect vacation?
Spending time with my husband and horses in the mountains. Or camping with my husband and my friends.
What about you? Leave a comment below or email me at penname.books@gmail.com.

That is all for today. Keep Reading!

Ta, ta.

b386f-rating2bsystem

If at any time you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

