Book Review​ (Emerge by Heather Sunseri)

Hello Everyone!

As you can see I have another review for you today. I was really excited to begin this book because I loved the Mindspeak series from Heather and hoped for another great series. I honestly am felt feeling disappointed. I am even questioning if my pleasant memories for Minspeak are still correct. I am planning on re-reading the series and re-reviewing them if need be. Anyway, onto my reasoning and overall opinion.

Emerge by Heather Sunseri

The plot for the book is an intriguing one. In a post-apocalyptic world, only one person held the antibodies in order to cure a deadly virus. Everyone else in the world had l lived through the original outbreak by running from it, being immune to it, or being rich and barricading themselves in a specially made town for all the wealthy and ‘special’ people of the world. As people were beginning to relax, the virus possibly reared its ugly head again. West sets out to find his long-lost friend who holds the key to fix everything.

I mean, what about that does not promise suspense, action, and maybe some romance. Plus, going in with the knowledge of the author’s previous works, I assumed these ideas would hold true. Unfortunately, it felt predictable and flat. The characters do have development, but it felt abrupt. There is suspense, but it seemed forced. The worst is that by half way in I had already guessed everything. I figured out who the bad guys were and how the ending would play out. Thankfully her spelling and grammar are spot on.

I made it to the end of the book, but I am seriously bummed that this story turned out to a bunch of cliques all strung together. I will not be reading the rest of the books in this series.

Overall, I am disgruntled.

two-stars

 

Question of the Day: What are you most thankful for?
As clique as it sounds, I am most thankful for my husband. He really has helped me in so many ways and continues to do so daily.
What about you? Leave a comment below or email me at penname.books@gmail.com.

That is all for today. Keep Reading!

Ta, ta.

b386f-rating2bsystem
If at any time you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

