Book Review (Magic Bitter Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg)

Hello Everyone!

We are continuing our review posts. I hope you are not upset with that. You are reading this in November, but I am actually writing it October 7. I have already announced that I am participating in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo post Here)because of this, I am going to continue only posting reviews and updates on my NaNoWriMo novel. At the beginning of December, I will go back to adding book hauls and other posts into the mix. For now, here is what I think about this book.

Magic Bitter Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg

So I was not sure how I was going to feel about this book. It received so many mixed reviews I went into it hopeful and came out happy.

magics-bitter

The biggest complaints I read about is that it is confusing, that there is no plot, and the character are lacking. I completely disagree. This book is written in the perspective of the main character, Maire. Now Maire has gone through something and cannot remember anything other than her name. I believe that because it is written in her perspective we are going to feel her confusion and frustration. If the author had given us more information that Maire did not have, everyone would be upset that Maire knew more than she should. I think the author allowed us to experience what Maire was in the best way possible.

This book is written in the perspective of the main character, Maire. Now Maire has gone through something and cannot remember anything other than her name. I believe that because it is written in her perspective we are going to feel her confusion and frustration. If the author had given us more information that Maire did not have, everyone would be upset that Maire knew more than she should. I think the author allowed us to experience what Maire was in the best way possible.

As for the plot, it has a great one.

Introduction/ Setting: We meet Maire and the people she lives with. We are introduced to her town and her job. We learn what Maire knows about herself, and the confusion and frustration that she cannot remember more.

Rising action/ Conflict: Maire cannot remember who she is. Although she is trying to adjust to the life she has been given, she wants to remember who she was. She meets people who seem to know her, but are not willing to share information. Plus, she is sold to be a slave and no longer has the freedom to try to figure out who she is.

This is where I have to end in order to keep from giving out spoilers. There is a climax and resolution. Some of which is slightly predictable.

I really enjoyed this book. It was well written. I did not find any mistakes. Something I liked the most is that the author made you use all your senses. It was fantastic!

five-stars

I give it five stars. Those who have been around long enough know that I am not one to hand out five stars to just anyone.

 

Question of the Day: I am going to pause the question of the day Until December.

That is all for today. Keep Reading!

Ta, ta.

If at any time you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews
One comment on “Book Review (Magic Bitter Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg)
  1. […] to finish listening to this book before the job ended. I picked it because I had previously read Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet. I loved that book and thought, why not give this trilogy a try. Without further ado, let’s […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

