Book Review (The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison)

Hello Everyone!

To be completely honest, I only downloaded The Butterfly Garden because you can get the audio for free with Kindle Unlimited. Knowing I was not going to have a ton of time to read this week I thought getting an audio book was a good idea. The description on Amazon aroused my curiosity.

butterfly-garden“Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…” *Taken the from Amazon page

 

Here is what I think.

This is another new favorite of mine! I could not stop listening to it. The story kept my mind engaged and curious throughout the whole book! Just when you think you had a hold on what was going to happen, it changes on you. Of course, sometimes the hints towards something did give away something here or there, but it was never in an obvious way. Do you know what I mean? Like her hints were small enough that I thought I knew, but until it got confirmation I was not sure.

Man, and her descriptions were something else. They drew me and sent my mind wild with the images that she was painting. Here are a couple of examples, though they are not the best examples, they are still great.

“You have to understand, I didn’t give him that name out of fear or reverence, or some misguided sense of propriety. I didn’t give him that name at all. Like anything else in that place, it was made up out of the whole cloth of our ignorance. What wasn’t known was created, what wasn’t created eventually ceased to matter.”

*The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison, page 9

“She handed me a piece of silky, black something that proved to be a slinky, knee-length dress that came high around the neck and low on the back. Really low. If I’d had dimples on my ass, she’d been seeing them. She helped me tie the ropy sash around my hips, then gave me a gentle push toward the doorway.”

*The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison, page 11

Anyway, I have really enjoyed this book and will be reading other stories from this author. The Butterfly Garden is on my To Buy list.

five-stars

No question of the day today. I will continue them in January.

 

That is all for today. Keep Reading!

Ta, ta.

b386f-rating2bsystem

If at any time you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Book Review (The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison)
  1. […] have also done a review on this one. You can find it HERE. I loved it. I really am looking forward to the rest of the books coming […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

