Starting a Writing Journal

Hello, Everyone!

After writing last week’s post on what I want to do this year, I decided to pull out my old “writing journal.” This is actually not where I store my ideas, but where I take notes on how to better my writing. I thought I would share the things that I have learned over this last year and especially the notes I took after last week’s post. Without further ado, let’s get into this.

imag2088

 

Here is my notebook! I bought it from the dollar store and have spent many late nights beating it up. As I stated earlier I write down notes or things that I feel will better my writing. For example, I have been working on learning how to show and not tell.

Inside of this journal are several pages just about that.   Here are two of these pages. imag2090

 

 

Other stuff that I have looked up are things on character personalities. Now I do not think that I am a narcissist or a psychopath, but I have and will be writing about characters that are. I want what I write to be as believable as possible. So I research and read everything I can on those kind of topics so I can write a character that you honestly believe is a psychopath. Another topic I have heavily researched is PTSD. Now I do have PTSD so most of what I wrote in Recovering is an Art are things that I have experienced first hand, but I wanted to know how other people react with PTSD. You will be able to see the benefits of this research in book three of the Recovering Series.

Anyway, so as I read I sometimes find some little inserts that other people have made up. Now I cannot post them on here, but HERE is the link to my Pinterest boards where I post some of the interesting things I find. When I find these I print them out and glue or tape -whichever is closest to me- them into my  Writing Journal.

imag2091

 

It ends up looking like this:

As I was going along this last week I realized that this book had no organization. I considered typing it all up on my computer, but I am one of those people that feels as though information sticks best when I hand write it, so instead I made a table of contents.

imag2089

 

My notebook is not full yet, but it is getting there. I can see the difference in my writing and I hope with the release of The Healer Who Needed Healing– second book to My Other Half– you will be able to see the difference as well.

 

I am going to stop the question of the day for a time, but I will bring it back in the future. Thank you for reading. That is all for today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Rants/ Advice, Update

Leave a Reply

