Book Review (Wreckage by Emily Bleeker)

Hello, Everyone!

I am still far too busy for my own good, but until I get my life settled, I will be listening to audio books so I can continue to write reviews for all of you. Without further ado, here is my review.

Wreckage by Emily Bleeker

Description from Goodreads page

“Lillian Linden is a liar. On the surface, she looks like a brave survivor of a plane crash. But she’s been lying to her family, her friends, and the whole world since rescue helicopters scooped her and her fellow survivor, Dave Hall, off a deserted island in the South Pacific. Missing for almost two years, the castaways are thrust into the spotlight after their rescue, becoming media darlings overnight. But they can’t tell the real story—so they lie.
“The pubwreckagelic is fascinated by the castaways’ saga, but Lillian and Dave must return to their lives and their spouses. Genevieve Randall—a hard-nosed journalist and host of a news program—isn’t buying it. She suspects Lillian’s and Dave’s explanations about the other crash survivors aren’t true. And now, Genevieve’s determined to get the real story, no matter how many lives it destroys.”
*Source: Goodreads

 

I generally have issues with books that are about people stranded on an island. However, the fact that “Lillian Linden is a liar.” intrigued me. I started reading in December, and after downloading the audio, I was able to finish it. I fully believe that if my life were calmer, I would have finished this book much sooner. It was fantastic. The descriptions were vivid and brought many pictures to my mind and tastes to my mouth. The author worked off of all the characters senses and brought the sensations to me.

Here is an example: “I squeeze my eyes shut, trying to force those thoughts away, the ravaging thoughts that haunt me. It takes a deep roll of thunder that vibrates my bones to make the thoughts scatter like rats into the dark corners of my subconscious.”
*Source:  by Emily Bleeker, page 184

We have all been there, right? When you have thoughts that are encroaching on you and all you want is for them to go away. You try hard to make them just vanish for a time. Sometimes we get frustrated then out of nowhere something makes them all recede. I have never been on a deserted island, but I was able to relate to the characters in this book. My heart ached for them when they were sad. I cried for their losses. I laughed with them during their jokes. My tummy danced with butterflies as they talked to the ones they loved.

This book was fantastic, a few details seems off to me, but nothing major. It has gone on my list of book to buy the hard copy of. I absolutely recommend it. At this time,. Wreckage by Emily Bleeker is part of the Kindle Unlimited program. You can get the audio and the ebook for free.

That is all I have for you today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews
One comment on “Book Review (Wreckage by Emily Bleeker)

Leave a Reply

