Recovering is an Art

Recovering is an Art by Astrid Lee Miles
Book One in the Recovering Series

32488708

 

This contemporary novel dives deeply into the dark, depressing feelings of a girl, Olivia, during and after abuse and rape.

Olivia assumed that she did not have much to lose when her neighbor tells her to get on the back of his motorcycle. Emotions and wishes stir themselves up in Olivia as she gets to know Ryan. Her trust begins to grow, but then everything is shattered. Olivia quickly learns that, “Depression is the unseen, unheard, silent killer.” With little energy left to fight, she falls to pieces. With the help of her friend, she thinks she could be put back together…if not, there is always one other option. Can they overcome her depression together?

*This book contains graphic content.

I truly love this book. Recovering is an Art is my debut novel. I was inspired to write it when my husband and I were having a particularly difficult life situation. My depression had made me plummet to a low I had never gotten to before.

I desperately needed an escape. I needed a place to write about my thoughts and feelings. Then my mother in law got all upset because I had said that I loved the movie Speak. She could not believe that any movie containing rape was a “good” movie. Cue me being thoroughly pissed off. I am sick of rape and abuse being topics that need to be hush, hush. All that does is make the men and women that have been through these challenging experiences feel even more excluded and different.

I hope that when people read my book, they can see that they are not alone. That so many others out there are feeling the pain that they feel. Most important I hope that they see how amazing they are and that life is worth living.

*This book is part of the Kindle Unlimited Program, you can download and read it for free!

 

Samantha Jane Taylor by Astird Lee Miles and Anna White
Book Two in the Recovering Series

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00061]“No one will love you if you are not perfect.”

All Sam ever wanted was to be loved. She was taught that if she looked perfect, then love would follow. *Giving her body away to any man who looked at her created a vast emptiness inside. Even so, she did not question the wisdom her “adoptive” mother shared. That is until Samantha was reunited with her sister Olivia.

Why did her sister’s scarred face end up with someone like Ryan? Samantha Jane Taylor grows envious and crude. These feelings cause her to hurt her beloved sister in a way she had never hurt anyone before. Can Sam repair the damage or is she forever stuck with this warped idea of love?

 

So Recovering is an Art was going to be a stand alone novel, until one night when I read about a man that had been abused for years, and no one would help him. This sparked an idea. Why not write about other people and topics that are difficult for people to stomach. I was going to publish Recovering is an Art in a couple of months, but I changed the entire ending just so I could continue working on the series.

I am starting with Sam and then continuing down the line of life’s challenges.

Samantha Jane Taylor will be completes in the next month or two. If you are interested in being a beta reader, please click HERE and fill out an application. Don’t forget to tell me what book you are most interested in!

 

Stay posted for more updates today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Recovering Series, Update

Leave a Reply

