Book Review (Broken Angels by Gemma Liviero)

Hello, Everyone!

I hope that all of you found the last two weeks posts helpful. If you want more information or help to understand what I do, please feel free to email me at penname.books@gmail.com.

As you can see by the title this week, I have a Review for you. So, without further ado, let’s get this done.

Broken Angels by Gemma Liviero

Follow a Jewish Rebel, a Nazi Doctor, and a little girl as they fight for freedom at a time where there is none.

broken-angelsElsi lives in the Lodz Ghetto. The longer she is there, the more she understands why her father wore the Jewish star. With this understanding comes her will to fight against the Nazis. She joins a resistance and tries to help other escape.

Matilda is forcefully removed from her home with a silly promise that she will be taken to a school that will teach her to be a perfect German woman and wife. When she discovers that the school is not what was promised, this brave girl fights and then plots her escape.

The high-ranking Nazi doctor, Willem, does everything he can to save lives when he works in the ghetto and later in Auschwitz. As a woman’s doctor, he witnesses some of the unthinkable viciousness done to these innocent people. Willem begins to question his role and what he can do to better the lives he is around.

 

This book is an emotional rollercoaster. That is one of the reasons it took me so long to finish it. The descriptions are just fantastic. They pull you in and allow you to feel the way the characters are feeling. Now, I like reading historical fiction, but I am not much of a history buff. So I am not sure if this was based on actual people. However, to be perfectly honest, I could see it being based off real people. Obviously, the events are mostly true, but the pain and heartache that these characters endure feel so real to me.

I did not notice many spelling or grammar errors. The only thing I wasn’t totally satisfied with was the ending. I kind of feel like the last few chapters was rushed. It was as if someone was breathing down the author’s neck to get the book done. Don’t get me wrong, the ending was mostly satisfying, but it lacked some of the personality and vividness that I had come to expect from the first parts of the book.

Regardless, it has been added to the list of books I want to buy. Also, at this time, you can download the ebook and audio book for FREE if you use Kindle Unlimited.

That is all for today. Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

