Book Review (The Help by Kathryn Stockett)

Hello, Everyone!

As promised, today I have a book that is not romance. I do realize that everyone and their mother has most likely read The Help, but I had not and wanted too. I own and love the movie. I had always planned on reading the book, but never got around to it. Lately, I have not felt like reading anything on Kindle, and so I went to my over packed bookshelves and grabbed this. I have to say that I am glad I did.

The hel

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Astrid’s Description: In Jackson Mississippi, you meet a girl that wants to write and a maid that is beginning to harden herself against the nasty white folk. After learning about an idea a black boy had for a book, she decides to take on the same idea. So with the help of the hardening maid and a maid with a temper, she begins a book about what it is really like to be a black housemaid in Jackson Mississippi.

 

I am sitting here in front of my computer trying to decide what to write. Trying to decide how to accurately convey my feelings and thoughts about this book. A particular theme is sticking in my brain. Personally, I do not feel like this book became popular for dumb reasons. It has many characters, and each one has their own personality. Each personality stays the same or gradually changes like it would in real life. There is no glorifying of dangerous or unhealthy relationships like there are in other popular stories *cough, cough, 50 Shades, Twilight* This book is just different than many other successful books that I have read.

The author is consistent in her grammar and spelling. Though the story is told in three distinct perspectives, the storyline is not jumpy. At the heart and core of it is a fantastic story that I could not put down. Honestly, if I did not already own this book, I would be going out and buying it.

Of course, it is different from the movie. However, I honestly think that if you liked the movie, then you will love the book.

I say give it a try.

That is all for today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

