Re-Read Book Review (All-American Girl by Meg Calbot)

Hello, Everyone!

Here’s to the first Re-Read Review! For those who missed last week’s Book Haul, allow me to explain. I bought books that I have read before and I will be re-reading them and re-reviewing them to see if my opinion has changed.

All-American Girl is a book that I originally read in eighth grade. I borrowed it from my friend. I loved it so much that I borrowed it several more times that same year. At the last library book sale I went to, I found a copy. I immediately bought it. I have not read it in years. Without further ado, let us take a look at this.

All-American Girl by Meg Cabot

All american

Astrid’s Description: Ahh, teen angst and woe is me. Samantha Madison is the middle girl in her family. Her elder sister is Miss Popular at their school. The younger sister is some kind of a super genius that attends a school for other smart kids like her. Where does that leave Sam? She is the middle child that does not quite fit in this perfect little family. Sam is the emotional artist out for laying her stamp on the world. In a show of where her concerns lay, she dyed her entire wardrobe black. When this creative artist was found charging money for her drawings, her parents laid down the law. She is to no longer sell these sketches of classmates with famous people. Instead, Sam is forced to attend an afterschool art class.

Sam is the emotional artist out for laying her stamp on the world. In a show of where her concerns lay, she dyed her entire wardrobe black. When this creative artist was found charging money for her drawings, her parents laid down the law. She is to no longer sell these sketches of classmates with famous people. Instead, Sam is forced to attend an afterschool art class. Of course, this class was only the start of her problems. One stormy day, she managed to save the US President’s life. Now she is under the watchful eye of everyone. If that is not bad enough, the president’s son might be in love with her.

 

Looking back at what I originally loved about the book and what I enjoy now, I can say my view has changed, but my love has not. I was never an art student; my drawings are nothing to be proud of. However, I latched onto Sam’s character so thoroughly because in my teenage years I wanted to be anyone but myself. Sam was this self-expressive girl that could raise a finger to the world and used her sarcasm to bring joy to herself. I wanted that, and I wanted the love she had in her life. I still love that about Samantha and I still would not mind being in her place. Though I look at it through an adult’s eyes and laugh at some of her reactions, I still believe to be her would be fun.

As for the writing, I feel like Meg did a fantastic job. I did not notice grammar problems or plot holes. To my knowledge, spelling was perfect and the story kept my attention. Meg uses a variety of words to describe and pull you into the tale of this energetic teenager. I am not upset I bought this book, and I even learned that there is a book two! I will be searching for the second book during the next few book sales I go too. I hope I find it.

That is all for today. Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews, Re-read Book Review
One comment on “Re-Read Book Review (All-American Girl by Meg Calbot)
  1. […] and I am afraid to admit how long it took me to realize that it is the same author that wrote All-American Girl. Anyway, I thought I should give it a try. I looked for the other books in the series and did not […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

