Book Review (Girl in the Shadows by Gwenda Bond)

Hello, Everyone!

Next book up for review that I have not previously read is Girl in the Shadows by Gwenda Bond.

Shadows

Astrid’s Description: Moira Mitchell is a stubborn eighteen-year-old that will not listen to her father. Like her father, she wants to be a magician and perform on stage in Vegas. However, her father does not want her to follow in his footsteps.
Moira finds, and essentially steals an invitation to join a Cirque, she decides to once again, ignore her father and go. It is her assumption that if she can get enough people to enjoy her show, then her father will accept her as a performer. Things do not go as planned. They especially do not work when Moira’s real magic show up and ruins her audition. Life for Moira continues to get out of hand as she struggles to get noticed for her stage magic. All the while, she was trying to keep her real magic inside of her. Will people notice her? Will her father accept her? Or will she always be the one behind the curtain?

To be honest, I finished this book a week ago, and I cannot find the notes I made about it. Because of that, I do not have a ton of detail to give, sorry.
Here is what I do remember. I loved the writing style. The author used a good amount of detail and did not go overboard. I know I was nervous at a certain point and put the book down because I was emotionally involved enough to feel nauseated thinking about what could happen next. I believe the characters had development. Although, I know I got annoyed with the main character. I think it is because at her age I was not in a “how about I don’t listen to my parents” state of mind. Although, seeing as I was not the norm, the fact that the author was able to portray a young girl so well, was impressive to me.
As for spelling and grammar. I mostly listened to the e-book, but I think, and again I am not sure because of my lost notes, that the grammar was pretty spot on.

That is all for today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

