Book Haul

Hello, Everyone!

I realized today that I had not finished posting my book hauls. I will try to remember to post the rest.

 

20170422_134537

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

I have never read this book before and I am afraid to admit how long it took me to realize that it is the same author that wrote All-American Girl. Anyway, I thought I should give it a try. I looked for the other books in the series and did not find them. Hopefully,  I will find them at the next sale.

For those that somehow do not know what this is about. Mia is a girl that lives with her mom in New York City. She is plain until she finds out that she is a princess and must learn how to act like one from her grandma.

 

Big Fish by Daniel Wallace

The movie version of this book was honestly one of my most watched movies when I was in high school. When I saw the book, I had to buy it! I wish I had known to look for a book when I was younger. I am excited to read it.

Here is the description from Goodreads:

“He could outrun anybody, and he never missed a day of school. He saved lives, tamed giants. Animals loved him. People loved him. Women loved him (and he loved them back). And he knew more jokes than any man alive.

“Now, as he lies dying, Edward Bloom can’t seem to stop telling jokes -or the tall tales that have made him, in his son’s eyes, an extraordinary man. Big Fish is the story of this man’s life, told as a series of legends and myths inspired by the few facts his son, William, knows. Through these tales -hilarious and wrenching, tender and outrageous- William begins to understand his elusive father’s great feats, and his great failings.”

 

Where the River Ends by Charles Martin

I bought this only because When Crickets Cry is the first book that ever brought tears to my eyes. It is a book that I will be re-reading soon. I have always wanted to read more from Charles Martin, but never have. When I saw this book I had to buy it.

Here is the description from Goodreads:

“A powerfully emotional and beautifully written story of heartbreaking loss and undying love

“He was a fishing guide and struggling artist from a south George trailer park. She was the beautiful only child of South Carolina’s most powerful senator. Yet once Doss Michaels and Abigail Grace Coleman met by accident, they each felt they’d found their true soul mate.

“Ten years into their marriage, when Abbie faces a life-threatening illness, Doss battles it with her every step of the way. And when she makes a list of ten things she hopes to accomplish before she loses the fight for good, Doss is there, too, supporting her and making everything possible. Together they steal away in the middle of the night to embark upon a 130-mile trip down the St. Mary’s River—a voyage Doss promised Abbie in the early days of their courtship.

“Where the River Ends chronicles their love-filled, tragedy-tinged journey and a bond that transcends all.”

 

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

Description from Goodreads:

“Halley has always followed in the wake of her best friend, Scarlett. But when Scarlett learns that her boyfriend has been killed in a motorcycle accident, and that she’s carrying his baby, she was devastated. For the first time ever, Scarlett really needs Halley. Their friendship may bend under the weight, but it’ll never break–because a true friendship is a promise you keep forever.”

 

That is all for today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Book Haul

Leave a Reply

