Book Review (The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg)

Hello, Everyone!

I apologize for not posting last week. I thought I had something lined up and I did not. My bad. However, I am excited to announce that the job I was doing, which made it difficult to read, is over now. This means I can go back to mostly reading and not listening to books. I am glad for that because I have many that I want to read. However, I was fortunate enough to finish listening to this book before the job ended. I picked it because I had previously read Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet. I loved that book and thought, why not give this trilogy a try. Without further ado, let’s get into this.

The Paper Magician

paper

Astrid’s Description:

Ceony Twill is very upset that she has to learn paper magic. She worked very hard to get to where she was only to be disappointed when she was not permitted to choose where to learn magic. She acts like a brat towards Magician Emery Thane. He is to be the man to teach her magic. As she learns about paper, she begins to see it in a new light. She also learns more about the forbidden, dark arts.

When an Excisioner, one who practices the dark arts, comes and steals Thane’s heart. Ceony takes his life into her hands and runs off to fight the Excisioner.

 

This book is fantastic. The detail paints pictures. The characters developed and grew. The ideas are new and exciting. I did not find the writing to be moving at too swift, or too slow, of pace. I loved it. I did notice that some people were angered at the lack of historical accuracy. Seriously people! Is it historically accurate to have MAGIC? Yeah, I didn’t think so, calm down and read the bloody book.

Anyway, I mostly listened to the book. As I have mentioned in the past, I am not too good at hearing grammar mistakes. That being said, I did not notice any when I was reading and not listening.

At this moment it is free to read and listen through the Kindle Unlimited program.

I will be reviewing the last two books either next week or the week after. That is all for today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

