Series Review (Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg)

Hello, Everyone!

As promised, here is the review for the last two books in the Paper Magician series. Find the review for book one HERE.

The Glass Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

pap

Astrid’s Description: It has been three months since Ceony fought for Emery’s heart. While Ceony has been excelling at being a paper magician, she also has been working to get Magician Thane’s affection.

Things get kind of crazy when a man believes that Ceony has unlocked a secret to magic. He is after her and this supposed secret. After people she loves are caught in the crossfire, Ceony knows that she must handle this, and fast.

 

The other reviews on this seem to be split in half. You either love it, or you do not. I happen to be one of the ones that love it. I still think that Charlie is a fantastic writer. I still love the way she describes people, scenes, and magic. Charlie Holmberg is creative, and it captures me.

It has been a while since I read it, but I do believe that grammar wise, she did a good job. I think there was something that bothered me about the book, but I no longer remember what that was.

Anyway, this book, along with the others in the trilogy, is currently part of the Kindle Unlimited program. You can also get the audio book through the program.

 

The Master Magician by Charlie H. Holmberg

pap3

Astrid’s Description: As Ceony prepares to take her final exam, she is shocked to find that Magician Thane would not be the one to give it. To keep people from saying that Ceony did not rightfully earn her Master Magician status, Magician Thane asked another to give her the test. Not just anyone one was asked. A man who hates Magician Thane and would love to see him fail, was requested to give Ceony her test.

Ceony must spend the rest of her apprenticeship with this man. All the while another threat to her life comes for her.

 

Again, the reviews are totally mixed, and I am with the people that loved this book. That being said there was one thing that bothered me. This is supposed to be two years later, and I do not feel like Ceony has matured.

She seems just as childish in this book as she did in the others. With the other two it made sense; there were only three months that passed between the two books. It does not make sense to me for her to not have grown in the two years that have passed. She is a young girl, that is technically just out of college, so why is there no maturing? I am not the same person I was a year ago, and I can say the same for the majority of people I know.

I know that is a little thing, but it really bothered me. That is really it though. I still love Charlie’s writing style and I still enjoy her books.

That is all for today.

Be free and keep reading!

Ta, ta.

At any time if you think, “Hey, Astrid, you should do a post on [fill in the blank].” Send me an email to penname.books@gmail.com or comment below.
Are you an author? Do you want me to read your book? Send business inquiries to penname.books@gmail.com. Let me know my blog sent you 🙂
Hello, I am a lover, not a fighter. I am an author, an avid reader, and a happy wife. My contemporary fiction is serious and my fantasy fiction is filled with love and action. This is the most serious sounding "about me" I have ever written...and that is where I am going to end this.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

